certification logo

 HFMA Certification Programs

For detailed information about all HFMA certification programs visit http://www.hfma.org/certification/

Becoming HFMA certified distinquishes you as a leader and a high-level professional in the healthcare finance industry. HFMA’s strategic vision characterizes the current healthcare business environment as the transformation of care to achieve value. Providers, physicians, and payers are all confronted with new business challenges. The nature of the business environment and its impact on industry stakeholders supply both the demand for and elements of a new approach to certification. Earning a HFMA certification is a designation of your knowledge, achievement and professionalism.


The CHFP Certification is geared towards financial professionals, clinical and non-clinical leaders, and payers - all those whose jobs require an in-depth understanding of the new financial realities of health care.  The CHFP program provides a broad range of business and financial skills essential for succeeding in today's high-value healthcare environment, including business acumen, collaboration, financial strategy and understanding future trends.

The CHFP credential is awarded to HFMA members upon the successful completion of two required modules:

Module 1 -  Business of Healthcare,  an online program which covers finance overview, risk mitigation, evolving payment models, healthcare accounting and cost analysis, strategic finance, and managing financial resources.

Module II - Operational Excellence Exam which is comprised of exercises and case studies on the application of business acumen in healthcare.

For more information about the CHFP Certification program visit  http://www.hfma.org/certification/

  fellow seal


As recognized industry leaders, HFMA Fellows act as ambassadors to the profession by raising the standard of practice through consistent participation in professional development activities and service to the healthcare finance industry. Fellows maintain their FHFMA designation by teaching courses, making presentations, publishing, participating in special interest groups or attending educational events.  Applicants for the FHFMA must hold a current CHFP.

For more information about the FHFMA designation visit http://www.hfma.org/fhfma/



Healthcare finance is rapidly changing. More than ever before, healthcare finance managers need to aquire and maintain comprehensive skill sets to provide the financial management demanded today. Developed to provide comprehensive technical education, Certified Specialist programs enhance healthcare finance skills through the expansion of knowledge and skill sets required by specific functional areas.  

Certification programs are offered in the following areas and are available to both members and non-members:

Certified Revenue Cycle Representative (CRCR)  For detailed information about the CRCR certification program, please visit: http://www.hfma.org/crcr/

For detailed information about the below listed Certified Specialist programs, please visit: http://www.hfma.org/certification/

Certified Specialist Accounting & Finance (CSAF)

Certified Specialist Business Intelligence (CSBI)

Certified Specialist Physician Practice Management (CSPPM)

Certified Specialist Managed Care (CSMC)